Grant Writing and Public Relations

recognition

Greetings from GrantLessons, we gained a new follower making our group at 56. Last week we looked at training new grant members. Well I got started with two new team members for our local chapter. We scheduled 2 hours of time and it took 2 hours to orient the new members to our process, to discuss GrantStation, GuideStar, and Dropbox. We started to look at the grant application that I need to complete for January 1st. I found there were a lot of really good questions that came from the discussion. I wanted to complete a grant while they watched, the trying to “kill two birds with one stone” and realized quickly that I needed to listen and respond to the questions and complete the grant at a later time. I will ask the two new members to review and edit the grant before I submit it, since I always need someone to check for flaws in the writing.

Today, I wanted to reflect for few moments on working with your Public Relations Chairman to get some press for your chapter’s grants. The Public Relations Chairman can include their names in the chapter’s annual report. The chairman can use a press release to share the grantor’s names with the community. The Grants Chairman must be sure that only the grantors who want recognition are included, some will want to remain anonymous. The information can be included on the chapter’s website and a post can be made to the chapter’s Facebook. We recognize grantors every 6 months.

We are now working at getting our seals and badges from GuideStar loaded onto our website. I can’t wait to see how that is going to look. It is not quite ready so maybe in a couple of weeks. I really want to share it with you all, but it is not quite ready.

For now, keep warm, be sure you get all your seasonal shopping but at the same time keep one eye on your grant writing process. It is so important to hundreds of people, mostly children in our communities.

Catch me when you can and I will catch up with you soon. Sandie

3 thoughts on “Grant Writing and Public Relations

  1. Sandie – Love your posts. I have been trying to get our badges added to our website as well. We have one from greatnonprofits.org I have asked several clients and representatives from organizations we work with to write reviews of their experience with AL – Kansas City on this site. (I have got 28 so far!) I have used parts of these reviews as quotes in newsletter articles and grant applications.
    Thank you for the work you do for this blog – it is a wonderful resource!!
    Happy Holidays to you and your family. Ann Whittaker – AL – Kansas City

  2. Ann that is great news! I hadn’t thought about using the reviews in any of my public relations work. That is a great idea. You have me beat we have only got 13 so far 😉 Hopefully, we will have our badges up sometime next week.

Leave a Reply

