Special Edition – GuideStar Premium

Greetings from GrantLessons!

I know I promised last week that we would start talking about foundations and corporations this week. But, I am deviating from starting a new lesson because I have made a huge discovery. Remember I have been talking and talking about completing your chapter’s profile on GuideStar. The emphasis has been on getting the GuideStar Exchange Gold Participant widget so that you could display on your website.

Now there is even a more compelling reason to do. I discovered this week that once you have the Gold Participant there is a benefit that comes with it and it is huge. After completion, you have earned access to GuideStar Premium, which has an annual value of $1,500. GuideStar Premium is a database search engine where you can locate potential funders. As long as you maintain a Gold Participant, your chapter will have access to this database. So please if you have not completed your profile do it as soon as possible. GrantStation and GuideStar Premium will be discussed further as we move into the second part of the lessons called Funding Sources.

I have already found a new lead on GuideStar Premium that I did not find on GrantStation for my local chapter. I am really jazzed about this opportunity.

I have been in the fast lane for the last couple of days. Now as you read this blog post I am in the skies probably sleeping as I head to Michigan, Illinois, and Indiana. Getting out of Reno before the second predicted snow of the season. So catch me when you can and I will catch up with you soon. Sandie

3 thoughts on “Special Edition – GuideStar Premium

  1. Hi Sandy,

    The AL Rancho San Dieguito chapter has recently secured the Gold Exchange seal. When I read your post, I interpreted your words to mean that our chapter could now access the Guidestar database of foundations. The only databases that I can find online, Guidestar Premium and Premium Pro require a payment. Is this what you meant, or am I missing something?

    Regards, Wendy Morris

    • Hi Wendy, yes you will be able to get the GuideStar premium free. Log back into your account where you did the update of the profile and you’ll see a link that is called benefits. Select the link.

      After the page refreshes, you will see a list of benefits. Go to the bottom of that page and you will find a link where you claim your GuideStar premium subscription which is free.

      I am traveling this week I hope these directions are with enough detail for you to find. Let me know if you have success thanks and thanks for following GrantLessons you will be pleased with your GuideStar premium subscription. Sandie

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

